Series.addxy: change the color along a TLineserie

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
jpm
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:00 am

Series.addxy: change the color along a TLineserie

Post by jpm » Sat Dec 18, 2010 8:09 pm

In the 'normal' TChart, it was possible to splite the color of a series when using series1.addxy(x,y,'',new_color).
Acually, I just buy the tchartpro version and I can put what I want in 'New_color', the series if fully drawn in it's nominal color.

How can I refind the previous behaviour?

Thank you for your suggestions.

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8737
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Series.addxy: change the color along a TLineserie

Post by Yeray » Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:24 am

Hi jpm,

Have you tried with this?

Code: Select all

ColorEachLine:=false;
It should make the lines to be drawn in the series' color.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

jpm
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:00 am

Re: Series.addxy: change the color along a TLineserie

Post by jpm » Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:12 pm

Yes. But the series doesn't react to this flag.
If you are using Tee9New.exe exemple software, under All features->Chart Style ->Line->Color EachLine (sourcecode : Line_ColorEachLine.Pas),
The exemple toggle the ColorEachLine and ColorEachPoint flags but without effect on the drawn series...

You say : "It should make the lines to be drawn in the series' color."

Let remember that the goal is not to draw the series in it's nominal color but to be able to change the color all along the line (for example to code the température when the series display nominaly the force vs time).

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8737
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Series.addxy: change the color along a TLineserie

Post by Yeray » Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:12 pm

Hi jmp,

We've recently made some changes trying to fix something related, as you can see here. However these changes still seem not to be a definitive solution as I can see that the demo in All Features\Welcome !\Chart Styles\Standard\Line (Strip)\Color Each Line doesn't respond as expected.
I've added it to the defect list to be fixed asap (TV52015330).
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

jpm
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:00 am

Re: Series.addxy: change the color along a TLineserie

Post by jpm » Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:42 pm

OK, if it'a a bug that mean that I have no chance to reach what I need.
'asap' => may you be a little bit more accurate ( days, weeks, months, more ?)
Will I be advise when this bug is fixed?

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8737
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Series.addxy: change the color along a TLineserie

Post by Yeray » Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:28 pm

Hi jmp,

I'm afraid I can't tell you an exact date for this to be fixed. I've added it with high priority because I consider it is an important feature but the time until it will be fixed also depends on the complexity of the problem and its solution.
jpm wrote:Will I be advise when this bug is fixed?
I recommend you to be aware at this forum or subscribe to our RSS news feed for new release announcements and what's implemented on them.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

jpm
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:00 am

Re: Series.addxy: change the color along a TLineserie

Post by jpm » Thu Dec 23, 2010 7:51 am

I hope it's not too long because as you know, once TChartPro is installed, TChart 'light' I used up to now is removed. That means that I can't recompile my previous project involving this facility.
Unhappily I widely used this facility to code non-essential information. For example in a series reporting the consumption vs time or torque or what ever you want, I often used the 'local' serie color (may change at each point) to report a real time information on temperature or voltage at some point or ..

The actual lack could become critical for us as long as we often have to rework and readjust our tasks.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Series.addxy: change the color along a TLineserie

Post by Narcís » Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:30 pm

Hi jpm,

Just wanted to let you know that TV52015330 has been fixed for next TeeChart 2010 VCL mainteance release.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

jpm
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:00 am

Re: Series.addxy: change the color along a TLineserie

Post by jpm » Sat Jan 22, 2011 1:16 pm

I am affraid the problem still remain.
I just downloaded and installed the last Delphi2010 realease [TeeChart v2010.01.11004 VCL] and I tried the following

Code: Select all

   
var i : integer;
   series1.Clear;
   series1.ColorEachLine:=true;
   for i:=0 to 10 do
      series1.AddXY(i,i*i,'',random($ffffff));
Colors are changed for each part ONLY in the label area but on the graph, the serie color remain at its nominal value and doesn't follow the request...

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Series.addxy: change the color along a TLineserie

Post by Narcís » Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:08 am

Hi jpm,

The maintenance release containing the fix for this bug has not been release yet. We expect having this ready very soon. I have checked your code works fine here using our current sources. You'll notice that last maintenance release is from October 2010 and I posted my last message here saying that the issue was fixed on December 2010.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply