Overlapping of Marks on Bar Charts

TeeChart for Microsoft Visual Studio .NET, Xamarin Studio (Android, iOS & Forms) & Monodevelop.
Post Reply
smcmickens
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 5:00 am

Overlapping of Marks on Bar Charts

Post by smcmickens » Wed Mar 17, 2004 10:38 pm

I have noticed several posts here before on overlapping of marks and a reference to the sample code in the Tutorial that comes with TeeCharts, but I am not having any luck getting it to work. Isaw where Josep had talked about posting some sample code on this, but I can not find it anywhere. I have a barchart graph that has a bar for each shift (1,2,3) for each month in the year the total number of downtime minutes that occurred for that shift for that month. Depending on the values associated with each shift the marks sometimes overlap to the point you can not even read the values. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to fix this? Any help would be appreciated.

Pep
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3173
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2003 5:00 am
Contact:

Post by Pep » Fri Mar 19, 2004 11:34 am

Hi,

one way around this it to use something like the following code to check if there're marks which intersect with other, and if so, move them to a custom position.

Code: Select all

Rectangle R1,R2;			
System.Drawing.Rectangle DummyRect = new System.Drawing.Rectangle();
for (int i=0; i<pie1.Marks.Positions.Count-1; i++) 
{
	for (int j=0; j<pie1.Marks.Positions.Count-1; j++) 
	{
		if (j!=i)
		{				
		Steema.TeeChart.Styles.SeriesMarks.Position mp1 = pie1.Marks.Positions[i]; 
		Steema.TeeChart.Styles.SeriesMarks.Position mp2 = pie1.Marks.Positions[j]; 						R1 = mp1.Bounds;
		R2 = mp2.Bounds;
		while (Rectangle.Intersect(R1,R2)!=DummyRect )
		{
		  mp1.Custom=true;
		  mp1.LeftTop.X = mp1.LeftTop.X +2;
	  	  mp1.LeftTop.Y = mp1.LeftTop.Y +2;
		  mp1.ArrowTo.X = mp1.LeftTop.X +2;
		  mp1.ArrowTo.Y = mp1.LeftTop.Y +2;
		  R1 = mp1.Bounds;
		  R2 = mp2.Bounds;                                  
		}
		tChart1.Refresh();
	               }
            }
}

TeeNee
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am

Problem when angle=90

Post by TeeNee » Fri May 19, 2006 4:20 am

This is a very nice piece of code but it has two problems when I use it in V1:

pie1.Marks.Positions.Count is zero when there are actually marks drawn. Sometime later when I execute the code the value is the correct value. So what event sets the count to the right value?

The code doesn't work when the marks are drawn at an angle of 90. This is because the bounds rectangles are for the unrotated marks. How can I fix this?

A third related problem is that when the Angle is 90 degrees drag marks uses the unrotated rectangles for its boundary - this makes it somewhat confusing to use.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Mon May 22, 2006 1:37 pm

Hi TeeNee,
pie1.Marks.Positions.Count is zero when there are actually marks drawn. Sometime later when I execute the code the value is the correct value. So what event sets the count to the right value?
This is because when the code is executed the chart hasn't been drawn yet. You should call this code in TeeChart's AfterDraw event.
The code doesn't work when the marks are drawn at an angle of 90. This is because the bounds rectangles are for the unrotated marks. How can I fix this?

A third related problem is that when the Angle is 90 degrees drag marks uses the unrotated rectangles for its boundary - this makes it somewhat confusing to use.
This seems to be the same problem. I've added it to our defect list (TF02011426) to be fixed for future releases.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

TeeNee
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am

Post by TeeNee » Sat May 27, 2006 4:44 am

There are probably a few more bugs in this area - I have not searched for them all systematically. You might like to have a look :wink: . For example, once you have dragged marks to new positions they no longer zoom properly when you zoom the chart.

[/quote]

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Mon May 29, 2006 9:10 am

Hi TeeNee,

This is because those marks have been assigned a custom position. To be properly drawn when zooming they should have a chart relative position (i.e.: the axes, ChartRect, etc.) and this position should be updated every time the chart is zoomed or scrolled.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

aballesteros
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:00 am

Post by aballesteros » Wed Feb 04, 2009 3:46 pm

I have the same issue but i'm developing in C++ Builder. Could you help me?

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue Feb 10, 2009 12:32 pm

Hi aballesteros,

You can try using something like this:

Code: Select all

void __fastcall TForm4::FormCreate(TObject *Sender)
{
	Series1->FillSampleValues(20);

	Chart1->Draw();

	TRect R1,R2,DummyRect;

	for (int i=0; i<Series1->Marks->Positions->Count-1; i++)
	{
	   for (int j=0; j<Series1->Marks->Positions->Count-1; j++)
	   {
		  if (j!=i)
		  {
			TSeriesMarkPosition *mp1 = new TSeriesMarkPosition;
			TSeriesMarkPosition *mp2 = new TSeriesMarkPosition;
			mp1=Series1->Marks->Positions->Position[i];
			mp2=Series1->Marks->Positions->Position[j];

			R1=mp1->Bounds();
			R2=mp2->Bounds();

			while (IntersectRect(DummyRect, R1, R2))
			{
				mp1->Custom=true;
				mp1->LeftTop.x=mp1->LeftTop.x+2;
				mp1->LeftTop.y=mp1->LeftTop.y+2;
				mp1->ArrowTo.x=mp1->LeftTop.x+2;
				mp1->ArrowTo.y=mp1->LeftTop.y+2;
				R1=mp1->Bounds();
				R2=mp2->Bounds();
			}

			Chart1->Refresh();
		  }
	   }
	}
}
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

UserLS
Advanced
Posts: 247
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:00 am

Post by UserLS » Tue Feb 10, 2009 3:42 pm

The problem with this solution:
  • I had only 50 points and execution of this code took forever, and even after it was done - some of the marks were still overlapping. Only after I have resized the chart (and wait a while) they finally did not overlap, but the positions for many of them were outside of the chart area (and chart did not adjust left axis max value, like it does for non-custom positioned marks.
  • bigger problem for me - I do not actually display the chart in most cases. I do everything in memory and then grab the image... The drawing code is not running the same way and AfterDraw even does not fire, I did try BeforeDraw - it throws exeptions randomly...
Any suggestions?

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue Feb 10, 2009 3:50 pm

Hi UserLS,

Running this code in AfterDraw event can lead to several calls of the same method and therefore be a very ineficient application. You could try running it in chart's initialization code and calling tChart1.Draw before so that the chart is internally painted and therefore marks positions have valid values.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply