Failed to create component TChart
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Tue May 25, 2021 12:00 am
Failed to create component TChart
I am really struggling to resolve an error.
I am installing via NuGet as soon as I drag the TChart onto a winForm I get this error.
This is regardless of whether I have a license file in the project or not?
I have tried removing the nuget, cleaning, deleting bin and obj folder.
I am using VS2022 and this is a winforms project
Ive spent far too long on this and you are my final resort.
Many thanks.
I am installing via NuGet as soon as I drag the TChart onto a winForm I get this error.
This is regardless of whether I have a license file in the project or not?
I have tried removing the nuget, cleaning, deleting bin and obj folder.
I am using VS2022 and this is a winforms project
Ive spent far too long on this and you are my final resort.
Many thanks.
- Attachments
-
- Screenshot 2021-12-02 123035.png (13.14 KiB) Viewed 13412 times
-
- Guru
- Posts: 1603
- Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am
Re: Failed to create component TChart
Hello,
did you follow installation instructions? It sounds as if you didn't run the TeeCalc_Lic.exe file.
did you follow installation instructions? It sounds as if you didn't run the TeeCalc_Lic.exe file.
INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS:
--------------------------
Save the Steema_License.zip to a folder of your choice.
You can download it from here:
https://www.steema.com/files/licensing/ ... icense.zip
Download the following file to the same folder.
http://www.steema.com/files/licensing/TeeCalc_Lic.zip
Extract the TeeCalc_Lic.zip file and run the TeeCalc_Lic.exe file. Follow instructions from the app. The Steema_License.zip file should be in the same folder as the TeeCalc_Lic.exe file before this is executed.
Use the Teechart.Licenses file obtained via the previous installation steps in your NET projects to activate the TeeChart assembly in registered (non-watermarked) mode.
For further information and a guide of how to achieve that please consult the following web page:
https://www.steema.com/docs/teechart/in ... ronet.html
Best Regards,
Christopher Ireland / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
Re: Failed to create component TChart
skiiercraig , did you resolve the problem ?
I have just similar situation with VS2022. It works under VS2019 but we changed to 2022 and its not ideal to keep two studios in same pc just for that.
I have had pro edition for years but now I don't know where to get support for that. Already spent several hours trying to solve out that.
I have just similar situation with VS2022. It works under VS2019 but we changed to 2022 and its not ideal to keep two studios in same pc just for that.
I have had pro edition for years but now I don't know where to get support for that. Already spent several hours trying to solve out that.
Re: Failed to create component TChart
Hello!
I have the same problem with fresh install of Visual Studio 2022 and using WinForms projects.
I used NuGet to install the latest TeeChartNET 2022.1.10.
I used TeeCalc_Lic to generate a license file and followed all example videos on how to install a license.
I tried an existing VB.NET project with NET4.8 which has TeeChart 2018 components and I tried a fresh solution with NET4.8 and NET5.0. All show the same error as shown in the screenshot in the previous post.
I have the same problem with fresh install of Visual Studio 2022 and using WinForms projects.
I used NuGet to install the latest TeeChartNET 2022.1.10.
I used TeeCalc_Lic to generate a license file and followed all example videos on how to install a license.
I tried an existing VB.NET project with NET4.8 which has TeeChart 2018 components and I tried a fresh solution with NET4.8 and NET5.0. All show the same error as shown in the screenshot in the previous post.
-
- Guru
- Posts: 1603
- Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am
Re: Failed to create component TChart
Hello,
We would like to know what happens when you create a new WinForms project in VS2022 with your TeeChart.licenses as an Embedded Resource, so your project looks like this: The code in the Form1.cs should look like this:
When you run this form, you should not see a watermark on your Chart.
We would like to know what happens when you create a new WinForms project in VS2022 with your TeeChart.licenses as an Embedded Resource, so your project looks like this: The code in the Form1.cs should look like this:
Code: Select all
using Steema.TeeChart;
using System.Windows.Forms;
namespace WinFormsNET4_TeeChartPRO
{
public partial class Form1 : Form
{
private readonly TChart tChart = new TChart();
public Form1()
{
InitializeComponent();
Controls.Add(tChart);
}
}
}
Best Regards,
Christopher Ireland / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
Re: Failed to create component TChart
Hi Christopher!
Thanks for getting back!
Your suggestion using C# and adding the TChart element in code is working fine. The program starts and I see TChart on the form without watermark.
However, when using the VS Toolbox to draw a TChart Element on the form I get the error message.
I also get the design time error in VB.NET when trying to draw a TChart element on a form.
I will now try to add the element by code in VB.NET to see if that works.
Thanks
Holger
Thanks for getting back!
Your suggestion using C# and adding the TChart element in code is working fine. The program starts and I see TChart on the form without watermark.
However, when using the VS Toolbox to draw a TChart Element on the form I get the error message.
I also get the design time error in VB.NET when trying to draw a TChart element on a form.
I will now try to add the element by code in VB.NET to see if that works.
Thanks
Holger
- Attachments
-
- TChart_Error_#1.JPG (211.33 KiB) Viewed 12959 times
-
- Guru
- Posts: 1603
- Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am
Re: Failed to create component TChart
Hello Holger,
it sounds as though you may have not run TeeCalc_Lic.exe (mentioned above in this thread in the Installation Instructions) on the machine you are working on, as it is this program which is responsible for modifying the Registry of your Windows machine so that the DesignTime licensing can work.
it sounds as though you may have not run TeeCalc_Lic.exe (mentioned above in this thread in the Installation Instructions) on the machine you are working on, as it is this program which is responsible for modifying the Registry of your Windows machine so that the DesignTime licensing can work.
Best Regards,
Christopher Ireland / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
Re: Failed to create component TChart
Ok, I have validated that VB.NET is also working at runtime without watermark when adding TChart in code.
The problem then seems to be related to the Toolbox Controls when adding a TChart by drawing on a form.
I hope this can be resolved quickly.
I have a project with ~15 TChart graphs added via Toolbox and this project currently does not run.
Thanks
Holger
The problem then seems to be related to the Toolbox Controls when adding a TChart by drawing on a form.
I hope this can be resolved quickly.
I have a project with ~15 TChart graphs added via Toolbox and this project currently does not run.
Thanks
Holger
- Attachments
-
- TChart_Error_#2.JPG (128.78 KiB) Viewed 12959 times
-
- Guru
- Posts: 1603
- Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am
Re: Failed to create component TChart
Hello Holger,
it sounds as though you may have not run TeeCalc_Lic.exe (mentioned above in this thread in the Installation Instructions) on the machine you are working on, as it is this program which is responsible for modifying the Registry of your Windows machine so that the DesignTime licensing can work.
it sounds as though you may have not run TeeCalc_Lic.exe (mentioned above in this thread in the Installation Instructions) on the machine you are working on, as it is this program which is responsible for modifying the Registry of your Windows machine so that the DesignTime licensing can work.
Best Regards,
Christopher Ireland / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
Re: Failed to create component TChart
Hi Christopher!
I have run TeeCalc_Lic.exe 3x times now and it always showed correct activation.
How else would I have the TeeChart.licenses file that I add to the project?
I also checked the Windows10 LICENSE_PATH variable that is being added in the system environment variables.
Thanks
Holger
I have run TeeCalc_Lic.exe 3x times now and it always showed correct activation.
How else would I have the TeeChart.licenses file that I add to the project?
I also checked the Windows10 LICENSE_PATH variable that is being added in the system environment variables.
Thanks
Holger
- Attachments
-
- TChart_Error_#3.JPG (59.59 KiB) Viewed 12959 times
-
- Guru
- Posts: 1603
- Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am
Re: Failed to create component TChart
Hello Holger,
There is nothing stopping our clients copying TeeChart.licenses files from other machines, unfortunately.How else would I have the TeeChart.licenses file that I add to the project?
Have you tried shutting everything down, logging out of your User account and logging back in again?I have run TeeCalc_Lic.exe 3x times now and it always showed correct activation.
Best Regards,
Christopher Ireland / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
Re: Failed to create component TChart
Hi Christopher,
To your #1.... Ok. I didn't think about that but unfortunately true.
I tried this yesterday already and have rebooted the machine 2 time already in the meantime.
Is the system environment variable correct as shown in the screenshot?
Thanks
Holger
To your #1.... Ok. I didn't think about that but unfortunately true.
I tried this yesterday already and have rebooted the machine 2 time already in the meantime.
Is the system environment variable correct as shown in the screenshot?
Thanks
Holger
- Attachments
-
- TChart_Error_#4.JPG (128.19 KiB) Viewed 12955 times
-
- Guru
- Posts: 1603
- Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am
Re: Failed to create component TChart
Hello Holger,
that looks fine - it's more likely to be an issue with the Registry and its reading.
If you would be so kind as to give me details of:
1) Win10 version
2) Visual Studio 2022 version
We will see if we can reproduce the issue here. Unfortunately, given the hour here (we are UTC+1), it is unlikely we'll be able to get a response back to you today.
that looks fine - it's more likely to be an issue with the Registry and its reading.
If you would be so kind as to give me details of:
1) Win10 version
2) Visual Studio 2022 version
We will see if we can reproduce the issue here. Unfortunately, given the hour here (we are UTC+1), it is unlikely we'll be able to get a response back to you today.
Best Regards,
Christopher Ireland / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |
Re: Failed to create component TChart
I am running Windows 10 Pro, 21H1 with all patches including 01/22.:
Edition Windows 10 Pro
Version 21H1
Installed on 8/27/2020
OS build 19043.1466
Experience Windows Feature Experience Pack 120.2212.3920.0
Visual Studio is a fresh install of VS2022 64bit Version 17.05:
Microsoft Visual Studio Professional 2022
Version 17.0.5
VisualStudio.17.Release/17.0.5+32112.339
Microsoft .NET Framework
Version 4.8.04084
Installed Version: Professional
Edition Windows 10 Pro
Version 21H1
Installed on 8/27/2020
OS build 19043.1466
Experience Windows Feature Experience Pack 120.2212.3920.0
Visual Studio is a fresh install of VS2022 64bit Version 17.05:
Microsoft Visual Studio Professional 2022
Version 17.0.5
VisualStudio.17.Release/17.0.5+32112.339
Microsoft .NET Framework
Version 4.8.04084
Installed Version: Professional
-
- Guru
- Posts: 1603
- Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am
Re: Failed to create component TChart
Hello,
thank you for the information - we believe we've made some steps in understanding what's happening here, and we've uploaded a new version of TeeCalc_Lic.exe you can read about on this thread.
thank you for the information - we believe we've made some steps in understanding what's happening here, and we've uploaded a new version of TeeCalc_Lic.exe you can read about on this thread.
Best Regards,
Christopher Ireland / Development & Support Steema Software Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia Tel: 34 972 218 797 http://www.steema.com |
Instructions - How to post in this forum |