Delphi Seattle: Enable High-DPI results than expected

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
TestAlways
Advanced
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Delphi Seattle: Enable High-DPI results than expected

Post by TestAlways » Thu Feb 18, 2016 12:52 am

In working with Seattle, if "Enable High-DPI" (in Project/Options/Application) is checked, Annotations' text will appear small

Image

(it is a little hard to see here unless you compare the annotation font against the axis label font--it is smaller, but should be the same size, or see that the annotations above take up less width than the annotations below).

But if I change it so that it is unchecked, it appears normal size:

Image

I much prefer the first image (much cleaner), but the Annotation text is too small.

Is there a way to get the annotation text to not change its size based on DPI?

Ed Dressel

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8704
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Delphi Seattle: Enable High-DPI results than expected

Post by Yeray » Thu Feb 18, 2016 10:01 am

Hello Ed,

Can you please arrange a simple example project we can run as-is to reproduce the problem here?
Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

TestAlways
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 12:00 am

Re: Delphi Seattle: Enable High-DPI results than expected

Post by TestAlways » Thu Feb 18, 2016 3:06 pm

(Thanks for your patience on posting this in the wrong group).

I have attached a demo. Click in the chart to add color bands and annotations.

To see the difference, I compiled with the DPI settings checked and unchecked and renamed the EXE. I then ran the program on my Dell XPS 13. (I could not see it on my development computer).

Ed Dressel
Attachments
Selection Point 3d.zip
(7.08 KiB) Downloaded 235 times

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8704
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Delphi Seattle: Enable High-DPI results than expected

Post by Yeray » Fri Feb 19, 2016 10:34 am

Hello Ed,
TestAlways wrote:(Thanks for your patience on posting this in the wrong group).
No problem! I've moved it to the according forum now.

We'll revise the issue and we'll tell you something asap.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

TestAlways
Advanced
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Oregon, USA

Re: Delphi Seattle: Enable High-DPI results than expected

Post by TestAlways » Fri Feb 19, 2016 3:16 pm

Yeray wrote:We'll revise the issue...
I'm not sure I understand what that means. Could you clarify?

Ed Dressel

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8704
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Delphi Seattle: Enable High-DPI results than expected

Post by Yeray » Fri Feb 19, 2016 3:24 pm

Hi Ed,
TestAlways wrote:I'm not sure I understand what that means. Could you clarify?
Yes. We'll check what's wrong, we'll see if we can do something to improve that, we'll investigate where the problem comes from...
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

TestAlways
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 12:00 am

Re: Delphi Seattle: Enable High-DPI results than expected

Post by TestAlways » Wed Feb 24, 2016 8:24 pm

Just checking that you could reproduce the issue?

Ed Dressel

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8704
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Delphi Seattle: Enable High-DPI results than expected

Post by Yeray » Thu Feb 25, 2016 9:20 am

Hello Ed,

Yes, I've reproduced the problem so I've added it to the public tracker:
http://bugs.teechart.net/show_bug.cgi?id=1447

Feel free to add your mail to the CC list to be automatically notified when an update arrives.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply