chartrect does not autosize based on custom axis label

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
davidnovo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 12:00 am

chartrect does not autosize based on custom axis label

Post by davidnovo » Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:01 pm

Hello,

If you have a chart that has a label on a customAxis, it seems that the chartrect does not resize based on whether the label is visible or not, or what the text of the axis title. If I use the exact same chart, but link the series to one of the default axes, then the chartrect resizes automatically to accomodate the axis title.

Is there a way to make the chart rect resize to accomodate the axis title of custom axes, if custom axes are being used on the plot?

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: chartrect does not autosize based on custom axis label

Post by Narcís » Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:41 am

Hi davidnovo,

Custom axes don't calculate margins automatically. You can either set desired margin manually or for a more dynamic solution implement something as the PlaceAxes method Yeray posted here.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

dave novo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 12:00 am

Re: chartrect does not autosize based on custom axis label

Post by dave novo » Wed Jan 20, 2010 3:41 pm

Hi Narcis,

This should definitely be added as part of the standard behavior. If I have a plot use custom axes, why would I ever want TChart to only base the margin on one of the standard axes? The code that Yeray wrote should be incorporated as a standard part of the chartrect calculation!

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: chartrect does not autosize based on custom axis label

Post by Narcís » Thu Jan 21, 2010 8:34 am

Hello,

This is on the wish-list to be considered for inclusion in future releases.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

cholzner
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: chartrect does not autosize based on custom axis label

Post by cholzner » Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:38 pm

Please note that I am also eagerly waiting for that "feature".
Rgds,
Christian

hel
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 12:00 am

Re: chartrect does not autosize based on custom axis label

Post by hel » Mon Nov 06, 2017 11:05 am

Any progress on this "feature"?
Is there an "easy" way to place a custom axis outside of the Chart rectangle without doing mad assumptions about Axis Title and Labels sizes?

Roumen

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8839
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: chartrect does not autosize based on custom axis label

Post by Yeray » Tue Nov 07, 2017 8:41 am

Hello,

No, I'm afraid #126 hasn't been implemented yet.
What do you consider to be "mad assumptions" in the example pointed out above?
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply