Issues: TeeMap in 2015.16.150901 32 Bit

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
TimeAcct
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 12:00 am

Issues: TeeMap in 2015.16.150901 32 Bit

Post by TimeAcct » Sun Jul 17, 2016 10:15 pm

Hello

I have a program that sizes and analyzes disk space on Windows systems. In the screen shot below – you can see the Tree view on the left – and the TreeMap on the right.
Note that there are 3,214 sub-directories in the Delphi directory branch. In the past the TreeMap might take 1 or 2 seconds to draw… Now – it draws as shown below (a little messy to say the least) – and it takes over 6 seconds to render. The Program is setup to allow the TreeMap to change as the user changes selected the directory on the left…

So – from what I have seen so far – I have two issues
a) TreeMap is very slow to draw with anything over 1000 entries.
a. Ok – this may be my issue in trying to load soooo many entries. But it did not used to be such a big issue with the older version of the TreeMap.
b. Is there a way to restrict the number of entries in a TreeMap? Perhaps something like the “Other” slice capability in the regular Pie Series? Basically anything under X% got put into one pie slice?

b) Messy Looking diagram
a. Once again – this looks like it is caused by adding too many entries.
b. Is there something that can be done with settings in the TreeMap graph?

Any thoughts as to how I might deal with this? Is there anything I can provide to help analyze this issue?




TreeView/TreeMap showing Delphi directory structure with over 3000 sub-directories.
TreeMapIssue.jpg
Screen capture of the Issue...
TreeMapIssue.jpg (188.16 KiB) Viewed 3059 times

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8910
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Issues: TeeMap in 2015.16.150901 32 Bit

Post by Yeray » Mon Jul 18, 2016 2:51 pm

Hello,

There are a couple of tickets reporting similar issues for the TreeMap series:
http://bugs.teechart.net/show_bug.cgi?id=1412
http://bugs.teechart.net/show_bug.cgi?id=1413

I've added a new ticket for the "other group":
http://bugs.teechart.net/show_bug.cgi?id=1581

However, you could always do it yourself, ie:

Code: Select all

uses TeeTreeMapSeries;

procedure TForm1.FormCreate(Sender: TObject);
var i, j, index, other: Integer;
    tmpValue, tmpOther1, tmpOther2: Double;
begin
  tmpOther1:=0;

  with Chart1.AddSeries(TTreeMapSeries) as TTreeMapSeries do
  begin
    for i:=0 to 2 do
    begin
      tmpValue:=random*10;

      if tmpValue<5 then
        tmpOther1:=tmpOther1+tmpValue
      else
      begin
        index:=Add(tmpValue, 'root ' + IntToStr(i), -1, clCream);

        tmpOther2:=0;
        for j := 0 to 5 do
        begin
          tmpValue:=random*10;

          if tmpValue<5 then
            tmpOther2:=tmpOther2+tmpValue
          else
            Add(tmpValue, 'value ' + FormatFloat('#,##0.##', tmpValue), index, clCream);
        end;

        if tmpOther2>0 then
          Add(tmpOther2, 'other: ' + FormatFloat('#,##0.##', tmpOther2), index, clCream);
      end;
    end;

    if tmpOther1>0 then
      Add(tmpOther1, 'other: ' + FormatFloat('#,##0.##', tmpOther1), -1, clCream);
  end;
end;
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

TimeAcct
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Issues: TeeMap in 2015.16.150901 32 Bit

Post by TimeAcct » Mon Jul 18, 2016 3:04 pm

Hello,

Thank you for the reply and links. These are all issues I have run into :(
Is there a rough guess at a time when these bugs will be fixed and released? I need to have an idea so that I know if I can wait - or I will have to find another TreeMap. When is the next release of TeeChart due out (if you can tell me)

Also - you noted that this happens under GDI but not GDI+. As I am running Win7 and above - as will all my customers - how do I switch to GDI+ to avoid at least some of these bugs??

Thank you

G. Bradley MacDonald
brad_AT_timeacct_DOT_com

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8910
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Issues: TeeMap in 2015.16.150901 32 Bit

Post by Yeray » Mon Jul 18, 2016 3:10 pm

Hello,
TimeAcct wrote:Thank you for the reply and links. These are all issues I have run into :(
Is there a rough guess at a time when these bugs will be fixed and released? I need to have an idea so that I know if I can wait - or I will have to find another TreeMap. When is the next release of TeeChart due out (if you can tell me)
I've incremented the importance of the tickets but I'm afraid I can't tell you when these tickets will be closed.
Feel free to add you mail to the respective CC lists to be notified when an update arrives.
TimeAcct wrote:Also - you noted that this happens under GDI but not GDI+. As I am running Win7 and above - as will all my customers - how do I switch to GDI+ to avoid at least some of these bugs??
Take a look at the options you have to change from GDIPlus to GDI here.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

TimeAcct
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Issues: TeeMap in 2015.16.150901 32 Bit

Post by TimeAcct » Mon Jul 18, 2016 3:32 pm

Hello Yeray,

I notice that on one of the bug reports (see URL below) - it states that it happens on GDI - but not GDI+. Yet I am running GDI+. While I do not see any of the lines outside the appropriate rectangle - I have in the past (earlier versions).

http://bugs.teechart.net/show_bug.cgi?id=1413

My issue seems to be how the labels are being drawn. Do you agree? Or am I missing something?

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8910
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Issues: TeeMap in 2015.16.150901 32 Bit

Post by Yeray » Tue Jul 19, 2016 7:38 am

Hello,

I wasn't sure if you were using GDI or GDIPlus. If you are using GDIPlus, the default, the ticket #1413 shouldn't affect you.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply