Point Not Displayed

TeeChart for Microsoft Visual Studio .NET, Xamarin Studio (Android, iOS & Forms) & Monodevelop.
Post Reply
avatar
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 4:00 am
Location: Calgary, Canada
Contact:

Point Not Displayed

Post by avatar » Thu Dec 22, 2005 11:50 pm

Hi TeeChart

I am plotting data by month. If the data is continuous teechart.net joins the points if there is no data the plot shows a break. I have just had a case where there is data for months 1 to 5 nothing for 6 and 7 then data for 8, 9 and nothing for 10 and 11 and one point for 12. The point does not show for 12. It is not a line because it does not connect to anything. I ran the same data thought my old teechart activex program and it displays a point without the code doing anything special. I searched the help but don’t know what to call what I am looking for. How do I display a point for a line plot if the breaks are set to Color.Transparent?

Thanks

Christopher
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1349
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Riudellots de la Selva, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Christopher » Fri Dec 23, 2005 7:43 am

Hi,

Which version of TeeChart for .NET are you using?

Using the latest publicly available version, the following works OK here:

Code: Select all

		private void Form2_Load(object sender, System.EventArgs e)
		{
			this.points1.Add(1);
			this.points1.Add(2);
			this.points1.Add(3);
			this.points1.Add(4);
			this.points1.Add(5);
			this.points1.Add(0, Color.Transparent);
			this.points1.Add(0, Color.Transparent);
			this.points1.Add(8);
			this.points1.Add(9);
			this.points1.Add(0, Color.Transparent);
			this.points1.Add(0, Color.Transparent);
			this.points1.Add(12);
		}
Thank you!

Christopher Ireland (Steema crew)
Please be aware of the newsgroup archives:
http://www.teechart.net/support/search.php
http://groups.google.com
http://codenewsfast.com/

avatar
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 4:00 am
Location: Calgary, Canada
Contact:

Post by avatar » Fri Dec 23, 2005 2:36 pm

I see the new relealse I will install it today

Try the above with a line. The last point shows in the legend but not on the chart.

Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
Line1.Add(1)
Line1.Add(2)
Line1.Add(3)
Line1.Add(4)
Line1.Add(5)
Line1.Add(0, Color.Transparent)
Line1.Add(0, Color.Transparent)
Line1.Add(8)
Line1.Add(9)
Line1.Add(0, Color.Transparent)
Line1.Add(0, Color.Transparent)
Line1.Add(12)
End Sub
thanks

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Fri Dec 23, 2005 3:25 pm

Hi avatar,

This only happens with line series and is because to draw a line you need 2 points. As the last point doesn't have a previous one no line can be drawn. Id you add an additional point to the series, as shown below, the last line segment will be drawn.

Code: Select all

		private void Form1_Load(object sender, System.EventArgs e)
		{
			line1.Add(1); 
			line1.Add(2); 
			line1.Add(3); 
			line1.Add(4); 
			line1.Add(5); 
			line1.Add(0, Color.Transparent); 
			line1.Add(0, Color.Transparent); 
			line1.Add(8); 
			line1.Add(9); 
			line1.Add(0, Color.Transparent); 
			line1.Add(0, Color.Transparent); 
			line1.Add(12); 
			line1.Add(13); //Additional point
		}
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

avatar
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 4:00 am
Location: Calgary, Canada
Contact:

Post by avatar » Fri Dec 23, 2005 9:18 pm

Hi Narcis,

The TeeChart Activex would display a tick in the same situation. Also if you say to mark every 10th data point the counter would reset after every break in the line. This accounts for all the data. What you are saying is to write code to add bad data to the plot for any single point before and after using Color.Transparent.

I am not just displaying data in my app. The user interacts with that data for an engineering analysis. Do you have another approach. I have displayed the line with points ‘smalldot’ and this works for all points except the last one. It also makes the stairs line look funny.

Thanks

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue Dec 27, 2005 11:23 am

Hi avatar,

I've tested that and the difference between VCL and ActiveX versions and .NET is that when making the series pointer visible the last point is not visible in .NET. Can you confirm this is your problem?

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by Narcís on Tue Dec 27, 2005 2:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

avatar
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 4:00 am
Location: Calgary, Canada
Contact:

Post by avatar » Tue Dec 27, 2005 2:28 pm

Hi Narcís

Yes that is true. The last point will not display. I was going to spend today to see if it was something in my code.
Thanks

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue Dec 27, 2005 2:30 pm

Hi avatar,

Thanks for your feedback.

Then this is a TeeChart for .NET bug. I'm going to add it to our defect list to be fixed for future releases.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

avatar
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 4:00 am
Location: Calgary, Canada
Contact:

Post by avatar » Tue Dec 27, 2005 5:51 pm

Hi Narcís

I can not tell you how I have done this, but now there is a series terminator that is always showing the last point. Unfortunately it is a rectangle. If I could change it to smalldot I would have a solution.

I have come across protected fields Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Series.AllowSinglePoint and Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Series.lastVisible. I can find no examples or other references to these field but I think it is what I am Looking for. What do I have to do so Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Series.AllowSinglePoint is True.

And Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Series.lastVisible is smalldot

Thanks

Christopher
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1349
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Riudellots de la Selva, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Christopher » Mon Jan 02, 2006 10:59 am

Hi -

I've had a look at this issue and have fixed the defect for the next debug release. In the meantime I haven't been able to find a workaround for you, although I would be willing to look at any code you have which works partially for you.
Thank you!

Christopher Ireland (Steema crew)
Please be aware of the newsgroup archives:
http://www.teechart.net/support/search.php
http://groups.google.com
http://codenewsfast.com/

GFoundries
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Point Not Displayed

Post by GFoundries » Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:10 pm

Hi,

I see that same problem with java. The last (single) point in the line series after a set of transparent points, is not drawn. Can you please apply the fix in the java version as well.

Thanks,
Ram

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Point Not Displayed

Post by Narcís » Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:02 am

Hi Ram,

I've been able to reproduce this with the Java version and added the issue to the defect list (TJ71014617) to be investigated ASAP.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply