Can't access dataset's

TeeChart FireMonkey (Windows,OSX,iOS & Android) for Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder (XE5+)
Post Reply
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2019 12:00 am

Can't access dataset's

Post by » Thu Mar 04, 2021 11:04 pm

Hi, I need some help with a TDBChart.

I have a FMX application with a main form. Also I have a TDataModule where put a TFDConnection and a couple of TFDQuery.
The main form is including the TDataModule. Then I added a TDBChart on main form and a Series1.

When I edit the TDBChart to specify a Dataset for the Series1 it didn't show the query's that I have on the data module. I have selected Dataset option on the first combo box on the Data Source page, however the second Dataset combo box remains empty.

I'm working with C++Builder 10.4.2 recently launched and with 2020.31 version of TeeChartVCLFMXStandard.

What could be wrong?

Best regards,
Patricio Cerda
Attachments
TDBChart screenshot.png
TDBChart screenshot.png (200.18 KiB) Viewed 1330 times

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8980
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Can't access dataset's

Post by Yeray » Fri Mar 05, 2021 3:07 pm

Hello,

I've tried it in a new simple project and it seems to work without problems:
FMXFDQuery.png
FMXFDQuery.png (46.72 KiB) Viewed 1319 times
Have you tried it in a new simple project?
If you still find problems with it, please send us a simple example project we can run as-is to reproduce the problem here?

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2019 12:00 am

Re: Can't access dataset's

Post by » Sun Mar 07, 2021 12:10 am

Hello,

Thanks Yeray for your help.

I just tried with a new project replicating the same conditions of my project and the problem comes again.
The difference with your example is that you are putting the TFD components on the same main unit, instead of put them on a separate Data Module as on my case.

On my simple test project I added a unit2 (the datamodule with TFD components) and then I included it to the unit1 (main form) so now I have an #include "Unit2.h" sentence in the unit1, however I can't see the query component on the TDBChart.

I'm attaching my simple testing new project for your revision, and a couple of screenshots.

Best regards,
Patricio Cerda
Attachments
TDBChart3.png
TDBChart3.png (155.59 KiB) Viewed 1300 times
TDBChart2.png
TDBChart2.png (35.19 KiB) Viewed 1300 times
TDBChart.rar
(11.85 KiB) Downloaded 55 times

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8980
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Can't access dataset's

Post by Yeray » Mon Mar 15, 2021 3:04 pm

Hello,

I'm finding problems with it and I'll do more tests.
In the meanwhile, have you tried to set the series' datasource at runtime? Ie (delphi):

Code: Select all

  Series1.DataSource:=DataModule1.FDQuery1;
  Series1.YValues.ValueSource:='Salary';
  Series1.XLabelsSource:='LastName';
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2019 12:00 am

Re: Can't access dataset's

Post by » Mon Mar 15, 2021 7:54 pm

Hi Yeray,

Thank you for your answer and suggestion as a work around, I will try it right now.

Best regards,
Patricio Cerda

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8980
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Can't access dataset's

Post by Yeray » Tue Mar 16, 2021 7:19 am

Hello,

Sorry, I've just realized I wrote just FDQuery1 where it should be DataModule1.FDQuery1. I've edited the reply above.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply