Empty TChart initialization takes 3 seconds

TeeChart for Java (NetBeans, Eclipse, Android Studio, etc)
Post Reply
znakeeye
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:00 am

Empty TChart initialization takes 3 seconds

Post by znakeeye » Mon Mar 18, 2013 11:45 pm

This line takes 3 seconds on my Nexus 4 (using English/UK locale):

Code: Select all

chart = new TChart(this);
The culprit is this line:

Code: Select all

bundle = ResourceBundle.getBundle(languages, currentLocale);
Not sure why this activate() function is even called. It seems it only looks for the line/column separators. Really odd!

Suggestions?

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8719
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Empty TChart initialization takes 3 seconds

Post by Yeray » Tue Mar 19, 2013 3:36 pm

Hi,

The activate() function creates the bundle to localize the strings the component shows. The activate() function only retrieves the separator strings, but the bundle is later used for other texts (361 references to getString() function, from Language.java).
As you'll see in the language files, there are more than a thousand translated strings; this may be the reason of this delay.
If you know another way to do this, don't hesitate to let us know.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

znakeeye
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:00 am

Re: Empty TChart initialization takes 3 seconds

Post by znakeeye » Tue Mar 19, 2013 8:10 pm

I removed the localization entirely (assuming "design time") since I do not use any of the localized strings. I did have to set the format for my axis labels explicitly, but I can live with that :)

Regarding localization, why not use the resource system that comes with Android? Just put xml resources in "values", "values-de", "values-nl" etc and load strings using an instance of Context (I think TChart will do) + getResources() + getString().

http://developer.android.com/guide/topi ... ource.html

The resources will automatically adapt to the current locale.

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8719
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Empty TChart initialization takes 3 seconds

Post by Yeray » Mon Mar 25, 2013 11:42 am

Hi Kristoffer,

I've added it to the wish list to be investigated for inclusion in next releases (TJ71016547).
Thanks for reporting it.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply